JOINT LETTER OF SUPPORT

from Local Governments, Nonprofit Organizations, and US-Based Companies

In Developing Federal Opportunities and Support For Community Choice Aggregation Communities

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm, Secretary **U.S Department of Energy** 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington DC 20585 The Honorable Michael Regan, Administrator U.S Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20460 The Honorable Pete Buttigieg, Secretary U.S Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590

October 17, 2023

Dear Secretary Granholm, Administrator Regan, and Secretary Buttigieg,

We encourage the U.S Department of Energy, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the U.S. Department of Transportation to directly support the development of Community Choice Aggregation programs.

Community Choice Aggregation ("CCA") is a community-driven energy supply model that enables bottom-up electricity transformation. CCA allows local governments to purchase and/or develop power on behalf of their residents and businesses. Currently, there are approximately 27.5 million people participating in a CCA program across eight states. In 2022, about 100 million megawatt-hours (MWh) of electricity was procured by CCA communities, representing 7% of the US residential power consumption.

As outlined in LEAN Energy US' <u>national CCA study</u>, CCA is an efficient, equitable, and cost-effective policy tool for providing competitive pricing and renewable power to a large number of electricity consumers. Many CCAs have sparked the development of new and local renewable power, opt-out community solar, storage, wind and solar power facilities that can provide energy security for low-income and disadvantaged communities. CCAs have also enhanced transportation and building decarbonization. CCA initiatives are uniformly based on communities' needs.

While CCA is a scalable model for federal agencies to reach their environmental, economic, and social targets, CCA communities urgently need support from such agencies.

As local governments, nonprofit organizations, and US-based companies, we endorse the efforts led by LEAN Energy US to seek support from the U.S Department of Energy, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the U.S. Department of Transportation in developing CCA. Specifically, we ask such federal agencies to:

- list CCA entities as eligible applicants to receive funds under federal agency programs;
- encourage all applicants to partner with CCAs particularly when community involvement is required, or when local grid challenges require tailored solutions and governance;
- join and support educational efforts led by CCA organizations and communities.

Thank you for your consideration, and we look forward to continuing this important work with your offices.

Sincerely,

Shawn Marshall Peninsula Clean Energy Chief Executive Officer LEAN Energy US

Board of Directors

John Kelly

Wunderlich-Malec Business Unit Manager LEAN Energy US Board of Directors

Mike

Joule Community Power

Founder & CSO **LEAN Energy US** Board of Directors

Paul Gromer

Peregrine Energy Group Chief Executive Officer LEAN Energy US Board of Directors

Alison Elliott **LEAN Energy US**Executive Director

Claire Dépit **LEAN Energy US** Director of Public Policy

Jessica Stromback

Joule Community Power

CEO

Community Choice Aggregation Association of New York (CCAANY)

Founding Member

Alec Ward

East Bay Community Energy Principal Legislative Manager

Charles Sutton

MC Squared Energy Services, LLC

President

Dan Welsh

Sustainable Westchester

Program Director, Westchester Power

Scott Hancock

Arizonans for Community Choice

Project Manager

Gina Goodhill

Clean Power Alliance

Senior Director, Government Affairs

Silvia Zinetti

Virginia Clean Energy

Mariel Nanasi

New Energy Economy Executive Director Henry Herndon

Community Power Coalition of New

Hampshire

Director of Member Services

Bena Chang

Silicon Valley Clean Energy

Director of Government and Legislative

Affairs

Jeff Byron

California Energy CommissionFormer Commissioner (2015-2010)

Dana Vingris

Sustainable Ohio Public Energy Council
Director of Grants and Development

Dennis Rowan REIV2G network

State Organizer, CCA for PA

Rod Sinks

Rotary Club of Cupertino, CA

Trustee

Leslie Glustrom
Clean Energy Action
Senior Advisor

Rick Brown

TerraVerde Energy

Chair

Lisa Hibbs

Commercial Utility Consultants, Inc. VP Operations & Government Relations

Christopher Doyle

1099 Energy Consultants LLC

Managing Director

Mike Uhl **System Smart** President

Donald Eckert

Pioneer Community Energy

Executive Director

Melissa Parrott

Renewable Energy Long Island Deputy Executive Director

Les Perkins

Farmers Irrigation District

General Manager

Javier Barrios Good Energy, LP Managing Partner

Susan Bierzychudek Green Ideals

Principal

Rosa Cucicea
River City Bank

SVP & Director of the Clean Energy

Division

Dave Shukla

Long Beach Alliance for Clean Energy

Co-Founder

Bruce Naegel

Carbon Free Mountain View

Secretary

Bruce Karney

Carbon Free Silicon Valley

Board Member

Brad Tito
PowerMarket

Director of Community Energy

Ty Tosdal **Tosdal APC** CEO

Baird Brown eco(n)law LLC Principal

Alysha Shaw

Public Power New Mexico Campaign Director

John Farrell

Institute for Local Self-Reliance

Co-Director

Tracey Danforth
Sierra Club
Member

Laura Fernandez

San Diego Community Power
Director of Regulatory and Legislative
Affairs

Lori Mitchell

San Jose Clean Energy

Director

Jim Wylie

Sierra Club Southeastern PA Group

Chair

Liz Robinson

Philadelphia Solar Energy Association

Executive Director

Douglas White

D.L.White and Associates

Owner CEO

Sharon Pillar

Pennsylvania Solar Center

Executive Director

William B Sabey CCA for PA
Volunteer

Ronald Celentano

PA Solar & Storage Industries Association (PASSIA)

President

Leora Vestel

California Community Choice Association

Director of Communications

Douglas Knapp City of Polo, IL

Mayor

Tena Krueger

Village of Leaf River, IL

Village Clerk

Julia Cedillo

Village of La Grange Park, IL

Village Manager

Natalie Colp

Village of Bonnie, IL Secretary/Treasurer Tim Schultz

Borough of Hatboro, PA

Mayor

Deborah Colgan

Borough of Morrisville, PA (Environmental Advisory Council)

Chairperson

Katherine Warden **Town of Becket, MA** Town Administrator

Ravinder S Bhalla City of Hoboken, NJ

Mayor

Maggie Peard

Town of Lexington, MA

Sustainability & Resilience Officer

Robert McGreevey **Borough of Narberth, PA**Borough Council Member

Paloma Vila

Township of Lower Merion, PA

Sustainability Manager

Sherry Chen

Upper Gwynedd Township

Resident

Eric Strid **Individual**

Marsha Rose **Individual**

Kerry Skemp Individual

Miriam Shakow **Individual**

Dana Boudreau **Individual**

Daniel Sutton **Individual**